Learn More About Jackson & Perkins Roses

Learn More About Jackson & Perkins Roses

By: Stan V. Griep, American Rose Society Consulting Master Rosarian, Rocky Mountain District

By Stan V. Griep
American Rose Society Consulting Master Rosarian – Rocky Mountain District

As a boy growing up on the farm and helping my mother and grandmother tend to their rose bushes, I fondly remember the arrival of the Jackson & Perkins rose bush catalogs. The postman would always tell my mother when the Jackson & Perkins catalog was in that day’s mail with a big smile. You see, back then the Jackson & Perkins roses catalogs were scented with a wonderful rose fragrance.

I came to love the smell of those catalogs over the years, nearly as much as the smiles I saw them bring to my mother and grandmother’s faces. Page after page of pictures of beautiful “bloom smiles” were featured in those catalogs. Bloom smiles is something I have come to call the blooms on all flowering plants, as I see their blooms as their smiles, gifts to us to help us through each moment of each day.

History of Jackson & Perkins Roses

Jackson & Perkins was founded in 1872, by Charles Perkins, with the financial backing of his father-in-law, A.E. Jackson. At the time his small business was wholesaling strawberries and grape plants from a farm in Newark, N.Y. He also sold his plants to those local folks whom stopped by his farm. Every Jackson & Perkins plant sold was guaranteed to grow.

Jackson & Perkins began the selling of rose bushes before the turn of the century. However, it was many years before rose bushes became the company’s main item sold. In 1896 the company hired Mr. E. Alvin Miller, who had an interest in roses and tried hybridizing them. Mr. Miller’s climbing rose bush named Dorothy Perkins was marketed and became one of the most widely planted rose bushes in the world.

Jackson & Perkins roses became a strong and sought after name when shopping for rose bushes. The name always seemed to be attached to a rose bush that any rose lover could count on to do exceptionally well in their very own rose beds.

The Jackson & Perkins Company of today is, of course, not the same company it was then and the ownership has changed hands a few times. The rose catalogs have long ago ceased being rose scented but are still filled with beautiful pictures of their rose bushes bloom smiles. Dr. Keith Zary heads up the hybridizing and research staff that still work very hard at developing many beautiful rose bushes for our rose beds.

A List of Jackson & Perkins Roses

Some of the Jackson & Perkins rose bushes available for our rose beds and rose gardens today include:

  • Enchanted Evening Rose – Floribunda
  • Fabulous! Rose – Floribunda
  • Gemini Rose – Hybrid Tea
  • Lady Bird Rose – Hybrid Tea
  • Moondance Rose – Floribunda
  • Pope John Paul II Rose – Hybrid Tea
  • Rio Samba Rose – Hybrid Tea
  • Stairway To Heaven Rose – Climber
  • Sundance Rose – Hybrid Tea
  • Sweetness Rose – Grandiflora
  • Tuscan Sun Rose – Floribunda
  • Veterans’ Honor Rose – Hybrid Tea

This article was last updated on


The scoop on 'Jackson & Perkins'

Phone: 1-800-872-7673
Fax: 1-800-242-0329

Catalog Order Page: Hyperlink
Paper Catalog Cost: Free

This company offers a variety of plants.

Comments:

Rating Author Content
Negative Ibjerry
Gardnerville, NV
(1 review)
September 22, 2020
Recieved 4 pre-orders of Bee Balm (Monarda) this week. To be frank all looked like last weeks lettuce found in a grocery store dumpster. Three were badly wilted and the fourth was pretty beaten up with dry shoot tips. All were leggy and poorly formed. I planted them as instructed yet only 1 has showed any life and it too is struggling. I emailed J&P notifying them of the condition as instructed within 48 hours. I have yet to receive a response. Needless to say the plant materials I received are a bitter disappointment
Negative Marley018
Haslet, TX
(1 review)
September 4, 2020
We ordered some pink groundcover rose bushes in Fall 2019 from their sister company, Jackson & Perkins. The roses did not begin to grow until June 2020 and didn’t bloom until mid-July. The description on the Jackson & Perkins website shows and describes the Rose Petal Pusher groundcover roses as compact floribundas roses with tons of large bright pink blooms on dark green, large leafed foliage. The rose bushes we received are completely opposite that description. The roses we received are scraggly, not compact, with very few tiny white rose blooms on light green small leafed foliage. I emailed the complaint 7 times, with no response from customer service. They have no phone number to call with complaint. Unfortunately the growth and blooming happened after the guarantee date, but it shouldn’t matter since they sent us the wrong item in the first place. Do not order from this company, as they may send you the wrong item too and take your money. Company representative comment on September 9, 2020:
On Sep 9, 2020 10:12 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, during the Summer season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases, it is best to always call for those important issues, our phone number is listed online. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. Please mention this post in your email.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how pleased you are with your order/product. Thank you! Your opinion is valued and we, of course, welcome feedback. It's customers like you who act as a reminder of why we do what we do and the importance of supplying only top-quality products as well as to offer the best service possible. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts!

We appreciate you taking the time to post on Dave’s Garden about how pleased you are with your order/product. Thank you! Your opinion is valued and we, of course, welcome feedback. It's customers like you who act as a reminder of why we do what we do and the importance of supplying only top quality products as well as to offer the best service possible. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts!

I have ordered at least 15 roses from J&P. For the most part, the bare root roses have been pretty decent. I did have two that failed on me. I sent them a message and they replied to please take pictures and send them back for a refund, which I did. Did not hear back for several weeks. I forwarded the message to the same email address, so the pictures would stay attached, but again, did not hear back. Again, third time contacting them, with no reply. at this point it was about 6 weeks after I sent the first email.

I went online and started a "Chat" session, explained my issue and was given a complete refund. the roses I bought were end of the year bare root roses for only 8-10$ so I am not mad about the two out of 15 failing, but it was bizarre to have me go take pictures and then never reply to me. Company representative comment on August 5, 2019:
On Aug 5, 2019 1:04 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

I am so sorry to learn that your two roses failed to survive. Please accept our apology, during the peak of Spring season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases and we apologize that you failed to get a response to your emails sent. I would like to look into this, please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may look into this situation. Please mention this post in your email.

I went to Jackson & Perkin's website and copied the email address, then I contacted them about the state of the plants and attached photos, but the email came back as undeliverable. I checked the email address and tried again. Once again, the email bounced.

I then went back to their website and contacted them via the messages, giving the order number, etc. I heard nothing from Jackson & Perkins. The following day, I sent another message, saying I tried to contact them by email, and had made references to the photos. I requested that they contact me by email so that I could forward the photos.

This was weeks ago, and to date, no one from Jackson & Perkins has contacted me.

I will never again order anything from Jackson & Perkins, and would never recommend them to anyone. There are so many negative comments about this company on the Internet. I wish I had looked before purchasing from them.

I am a highly seasoned gardener, having created beautiful gardens both in the United Kingdom and now here in the USA. I have found Brent and Becky's Bulbs, White Flower Farm and Plant Delights to be wonderful, responsive online sources of plants and bulbs. They have never failed to refund or replace plants that failed to grow under normal circumstances.

Please think twice before ordering from Jackson & Perkins. More than likely, you will be as disappointed as I am.

I just signed up with Dave's Garden so that I could leave this review, because I would like others to know of, and learn from, my experience. Company representative comment on May 13, 2019:
On May 13, 2019 12:13 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

I am so sorry to learn that your plants failed to survive. Please accept our apology, during the peak of Spring season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases, it is best to always call for those important issues. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. Please mention this post in your email.

Please accept our apology, during the peak of Spring season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases, it is best to always call for those important issues. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. Please mention this post in your email.

I sent an e-mail to them as follows the day after receipt, being unsure of the quality of the plants I received:

"Hello. I have never ordered bare-root roses from Jackson and Perkins before, and I expected all the bare-root roses to be Grade 1 roses. I only had 3 that I would consider Grade 1 roses. The other 7 were weak, with thin canes and a small root system (of which three of them had broken main roots). I would not be surprised if these roses died, even with proper care. I expected more from Jackson and Perkins. Why did I receive 7 weak plants and only 3 Grade 1 plants? I paid a lot of money on these roses, and expected better. Please advise. Thanks."

I sent another e-mail to them today, early in the day, as follows:

"Hello. I am contacting you again regarding the order number referenced. I received no response regarding my disappointment with this order. Not to mention that the bare-root roses were already breaking dormancy when I received them, and I know it's not a good idea to buy bare-root roses that are breaking dormancy before they should. It's poor customer service if no one responds to my concerns regarding this order."

As mentioned in the second e-mail, most of the bare-root roses were already breaking dormancy in the box when I received them. That's a huge no-no for buying bare-root roses. I'm not really sure why, but that's what I've read on a lot of gardening sites.

Still no response. I spent nearly $250 for these roses. It's ridiculous that I can't even get a response from Jackson and Perkins regarding my concerns. This isn't even poor customer service, it's a complete LACK of customer service. I really should have listened to all the bad reviews here. Don't make my mistake, there's a reason that there are so many bad reviews here.

On March 28th, 2019, Superteeth changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

So I got in touch with Angela Davenport from Jackson and Perkins, and she did right by me by issuing a merchandise credit for the roses I thought weren't going to survive. She also addressed my issues promptly, and explained that Jackson and Perkins has a high volume of orders and other things to deal with during Spring, which explains the slow response time. I appreciate the way that she handled my issue. Company representative comment on March 25, 2019:
On Mar 25, 2019 6:08 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, during the peak of Spring season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases, it is best to always call for those important issues. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. Please mention this post in your email.

Please accept our apology, I am so sorry to learn the condition of your plants upon delivery last Spring and that they failed to survive. We at Jackson and Perkins want to offer our customers only the best in plants and service. If you would please contact me directly with your order number/information. I am more than happy to look into a resolution for you.

Please accept our apology. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Please accept our apology, we never want to disappoint our customers or give them bad service. We understand people seeking an outlet to voice their opinions and we do try our best to resolve all the complaints and concerns brought to our attention. We ship thousands of orders each year, and our goal is to offer only the best in both products and service. We are committed to working closely with customers to resolve any service issues and will continue to focus our efforts on creating a positive experience. You can contact me directly if you would like so that I can make the appropriate adjustment for you. Thank you for bringing this situation to attention.

I am so sorry to learn that you disagree with our guarantee policy when ordering outside of the recommended hardiness zones. Yes, roses that never come out of dormancy should never be denied credit because of this clause in our Guarantee. We understand people seeking an outlet to voice their opinions and we do try our best to resolve all the complaints and concerns brought to our attention from all online garden forms. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue. Please mention your post in your email.

When I asked why I had not been notified sooner, and my money refunded right away. and had I not contacted them about my order would they have just kept my money and never tell me that my order was canceled? I was then told I would get my refund in approximately 3 days. I told them I wanted my money back immediately-they charged me immediately. then the chat person disconnected.

What a bunch of CROOKS. Of course, being well aware of the reviews and their reputation, I guess I dodged a bullet and did not end up with the headache of receiving dead sticks instead of the roses I ordered. I will be contacting them EVERY day about my refund, I do not trust them. Awful-Awful-Awful Company. crooks and liers. I just hope I get my money back! Company representative comment on June 15, 2018:
On Jun 15, 2018 6:03 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, we never want to disappoint our customers or give them bad service. We understand people seeking an outlet to voice their opinions and we do try our best to resolve all the complaints and concerns brought to our attention. We ship thousands of orders each year, and our goal is to offer only the best in both products and service. Unfortunately there are times when we do have delays or run out of products that is beyond our control and even have to stop shipping due to temperatures. Please know we are currently working on a program that will notify our customers when we encounter these issues. We are committed to working closely with customers to resolve any service issues and will continue to focus our efforts on creating a positive experience. You can contact me directly if you would like so that I can check the status of your refund .Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention.

We have recently bought 5 x 2-Quart 'Iceberg' roses at $25.95 each.
We knew they would be delivered bare-root so that immediately after we received them we have planted them all in the same area together with other roses.
1 rooted.
The other 4 died soon after.
We contacted J&P with the pictures, and original tags, of the dead roses to have them replaced.
They never replied.
We've ended up to pay a 2-Quart bare-root rose $129.75!
Guislaine Company representative comment on June 11, 2018:
On Jun 11, 2018 12:02 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, during the peak of Spring season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases, it is best to always call for those important issues. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. Please mention this post in your email.

Firstly, we would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We are very sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with our company. We are committed to working closely with customers to resolve any service issues and will continue to focus our efforts on creating a positive experience. You can contact me directly if you would like so that I can check the status of your refund .Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention.

Please accept our apology, we never want to disappoint our customers or give them bad service. We understand people seeking an outlet to voice their opinions and we do try our best to resolve all the complaints and concerns brought to our attention. We ship thousands of orders each year, and our goal is to offer only the best in both products and service. Unfortunately there are times when we do have delays or run out of products that is beyond our control. Please know we are currently working on a program that will notify our customers when we encounter these delays. I am uncertain what happened with the emails inquiries you sent and why they went unanswered, this is unacceptable and we will be looking into this matter. We are so sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

I am so sorry to learn that you disagree with our guarantee policy when ordering outside of the recommended hardiness zones. We understand people seeking an outlet to voice their opinions and we do try our best to resolve all the complaints and concerns brought to our attention from all online garden forms. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Please accept our apology. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review the emails sent so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Anyway, I cannot say the same for the current situation with this company, except that I have had good interaction with customer service. I did report fruit trees and roses sent upon arrival that had dead canes with no green wood beneath, to give them a chance indoors during winter. We shall see soon if these survive. Replacements were promised. I have shared with them that having shipped plants in this condition should not have been done by the nursery staff in the first place, as if to assume customers do not know plants. Yes, I have a formal horticulture background. Once viable, I will share these with a youth club.

I would rate J&P fine otherwise. Company representative comment on March 8, 2018:
On Mar 8, 2018 10:01 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, I am so sorry to learn the condition of your plants upon delivery. We at Jackson and Perkins want to offer our customers only the best in plants and service. If you have any issues, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team.

Please contact me directly at the email below. I would like to get some information from you and help you get a better resolution. I will need your order number and the 6 roses names that failed to survive.

Please accept our apology. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Please accept our apology, I am so sorry to learn the condition of your roses upon delivery. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

I reached out to the Customer Service agent who replied to my posting and gave her the information that she requested along with a vent. She replied back that she had refunded me for the price of the dead ground cover and the potted hybrid tea, which honestly surprised me, as I was expecting to fight to get a refund. I had seriously considered changing my rating to neutral, but the fact that the plants showed up in that condition, I never heard from customer service going through normal channels, but did in a flash as soon as I posted a negative review, still outweigh getting the unexpected refund, and so my rating stays. Will I ever order from them again, probably not, because I can't run the risk of getting substandard plants that are going to have to survive 100 degree plus weather during the summer, and then below freezing during the winter. It's just too bad. Company representative comment on June 2, 2017:
On Jun 2, 2017 1:58 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, I am so sorry to learn the condition of your roses upon delivery. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

I had ordered four rose plants and have sent you a detailed email with all the details. This is what happened. Burgundy iceberg and Radiant perfume were both bare roots and the other two were either 2 quart or 1 gallon plant(Disneyland floribunda and wildfire)
The bare roots looked dead even when it arrived, was shocked to see the size of wildfire rose(and I spent $33 almost. ) Disneyland rose wasn't packed properly and came along lifeless. I contacted the customer service and they said anymore radiant perfume or burgundy iceberg was not available and sent a merchandise credit for the same. I requested them to send a replacement for the two and didn't even know they used up the credit. Finally received our Lady of Guadalupe(instead of radiant perfume) and a burgundy iceberg plant. Why do you call the color as burgundy when the flower is white GOD knows. I sent emails to customer service and they never ever replied back. Then I was on the phone each day for 3 or 4 days and on hold for at least an hour or two each time and was told that I'd be assisted by the supervisor(don't even know if you have one) Finally they told me that they had used up the merchandise credit to send the two plants. How could they use the credit without my knowledge when I asked for replacement? I'd be very happy if you guys can replace/refund the purchase amount. Feeling very conned having done business with you. Hope I can expect some reply or help in this matter.

Thanks,
Ranjani Company representative comment on May 17, 2017:
On May 17, 2017 9:10 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Please accept our apology. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Found dead canes with brown center from one good looking rose they shipped. Center was mushy and can squeeze between two fingers. Prune and removed those canes, smallest bare roots bacame XXXS bare roots. Never again! On March 17th, 2013, bluebuster77 added the following:

Growths are slowly and weakly. I don't think those bare roots are top quality at all. I rather loose my money for what I purchsed rather than complaint and getting store credit to buy again next year, never ending drama. They don't afraid to loose good customer by just doing one time deal, so why not remove this bad company from my supplier list. On March 27th, 2013, bluebuster77 added the following:

Do not order from them. Really! bare roots are still in same condtion with unmature leaves showing crisp and dried. Spent alot of effort o caring their small tiny bare roots while others are lush and ready to bloom. Super disappointed, if you order from them you will have same feeling as I described. On April 3rd, 2013, bluebuster77 added the following:

All three J&P roses are surely die with brown canes, only 10% green color on entire bare root while others bushes are ready to bloom. Big No No! On May 6th, 2013, bluebuster77 added the following:

People willing to buy from them again and again, this company will love to accept your donation. Other gardeners, I advice you that DON'T TRY buying from this company, so let this company bankrupt agan and leave from this business. They ignore all report and complaint regarding of their dead roses. How can I tell this company is professional? On June 10th, 2013, bluebuster77 added the following:

Hmm I will never gave up my extended negative feedback to this lier. No response my email regarding of their useless low quality die roses. I knew there is no guarantee on refund anyway. I will keep sending this hate message to all gardeners to avoid this company. No regret! On January 7th, 2014, bluebuster77 added the following:

Don't even think about to purchase any plants or garden supply from this NEW J&P. You will receive partially dead plants and prepare funeral for you lovely plants and roses. Do not confused with beautiful advertisement with huge colorful roses, your dream will be over short period of time. Rather support local nursery and purchase from trusted gardens. I don't want you to loose your money! On March 17th, 2014, bluebuster77 added the following:

Conclusion is DO NOT BUY roses from new Jackson and Perkins. Not only roses are poor quality but also people who doing this business are low quality as well. Dishonest and no refund for their garbage roses. On December 30th, 2014, bluebuster77 added the following:

Some people bought roses from this company last 5-10 years ago and still think positive about their current quality. Keep update yourself, everything is changed. If you believe still want to buy from them, this company will thanks you for selling you dead roses. On February 27th, 2015, bluebuster77 added the following:

Nah.. unless people give them positive feedbacks higher than negative, I will trust this company. Not talk about quality of their garbage roses, just mention about no refund nor replace for all my roses died within a month. This is the way they make money. Shame. I will never dealing with company not follow good business practice. On May 10th, 2017, bluebuster77 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I cannot believe myself giving positive feedback to Jackson and Perkins. Once I ordered in 2013 all 4 roses from my order are dead and hate to buy from them again, never ever. We are in California still can find some J&P varieties from retail growers, however, I want to try buying some J&P exclusive roses, their prices are reasonable and offered generous discount. This year I ordered one after another total of 4 orders, came out great result. All 4 orders shipped within few days and received within 10 days. Properly package, no broken canes, brown or dry out. Overall Quality of bareroot is healthy and excellent, one or two from my 4 orders are not top notch but leaves out and rooted. I'm happy with all my orders and exciting for their huge improvement. Company representative comment on March 3, 2015:
On Mar 3, 2015 10:56 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

We have reviewed your posting on Dave's Garden Watchdog website. We want to resolve the problem but are unable to locate your order with the partial email address provided by the site. Please forward your order number or complete billing address (including zip code), and any other pertinent information to assist you. We want to help.

She then asked if I wanted them to send out the items that were in stock immediately. Of course I wanted that, I live in Texas and it is starting to get hot. I then asked her to price adjust the items to the current price, as many of them had gone on sale. She said she couldn't do that and I should be happy to know that I got my items originally at a discount off the regular price. I told her that I paid a premium to get my items early to get them in the ground early. Now, I wanted to pay what EVERYONE else was paying online, as my items haven't shipped. She refused and I canceled the order.

I can't understand why they wouldn't try to show a small gesture of good faith after being so non-responsive for over a month. VERY DISAPPOINTING. I will now go elsewhere and never shop at Jackson & Perkins again. Shame, I have many roses and trees from them that actually grew quite nicely. Company representative comment on May 3, 2017:
On May 3, 2017 12:28 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology, during the peak of Spring season our emails do get many days behind due to the sheer volume we receive on a daily bases, it is best to always call for those important issues. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation.

This is such a bad experience. First they send the rose out much later than originally stated, secondly they do not take responsibility for weak plants. They ask us as consumer to spend time and engergy to work with their weak unhealthy plants. This is just not accepable!

Now I just wish that I have never ordered from them in the first place. I want my money back!! Company representative comment on May 1, 2017:
On May 1, 2017 11:08 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please accept our apology. I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

Similarly to last year, they came compromised and have not begun growing. They are basically just sticks. Their 48 hour return policy does not make sense for roses that need time to wake up. It has been several weeks. I see similar feedback from others all over.
I took proper care to put them in the dirt and water them immediately.

I would not risk a rose purchase again. Company representative comment on May 1, 2017:
On May 1, 2017 11:01 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

I am so sorry to learn that your roses are not doing well. The 48 hours timeframe is to report issues the plants may have upon arrival, not after planting.

Angela D
Jackson and Perkins Sale Associate
[email protected] On May 1, 2017 11:03 AM, Jackson & Perkins added:

Please contact me directly with your order number and issues and I will be happy to look into this for you.

I live in Zone 8, Seattle area. General note is to order roses in March and early April (in Zone 8) to ensure the bare root roses are in the best condition. Water and organic fertilizer are bare root roses' best friend.

In March 2016, I ordered 6 John F Kennedy bare root roses and 6 St. Patrick bare root roses from Jackson and Perkins. From order to delivery, it took about 2 weeks. They usually ship roses in the beginning of the week so that the roses will not sit in a UPS warehouse for too long. When the roses arrived, most were very healthy. A few of them had white mold, therefore, I called customer service and they replaced the moldy roses immediately.

Before planting the roses, I soaked them in water with epsom salt and vitamin B for

12 hrs. Immediately before planting, I used a sharp pair of clean garden shears to trim

0.5 inches off the roots. I amended the soil with blood meal, bone meal, alfalfa meal, cotton seed meal, steer manure, banana peels, a small amount of epsom salt, and a sprinkle of rooting hormone. After planting, I deeply watered the roses for an hour with soaker hoses.

Subsequently, I water the roses deeply every 3 days with soaker hoses for a month. The roses started to have healthy green leaves in 3-4 weeks. About 1.5 months after planting when true leaves are in abundance, I applied slow releasing organic fertilizer. At this point, I water only when necessary (

once a week, deeply with soaker hose for an hour). Additionally, I applied liquid fertilizer every other week during peak growing season.

My roses did great and I got beautiful flowers during the first summer. In late August, I stopped fertilizing and by September, I left the roses alone for the fall and winter.

This Feb 2017, I trimmed my roses and fertilized them when there were an abundance of true leaves. The roses are all healthy and strong. I am expecting some fantastic blooms this year!

Additionally, I ordered >20 roses for to start another rose garden this year (2017).

DO NOT order from this company. Although they used to have a good reputation, they no longer serve their customers. I will report them to the Better Business Bureau in California, as they committed these acts over State lines,. Company representative comment on April 4, 2017:
On Apr 4, 2017 11:03 AM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

I would like to assist in bringing a solution to your issues. Please email me with your name, address, and order number so that I may help you with this situation. We at Jackson and Perkins would like to make your experience better. I would like to review your account so that I may bring a better resolution to your issue.

I bought most of my rose plants from J&P years ago and am very disappointed with the lack of service I got today. Company representative comment on March 31, 2017:
On Mar 31, 2017 12:48 PM, Jackson & Perkins responded with:

Please contact me directly with your Gift card numbers and let me look into this for you.

We understand people seeking an outlet to voice their opinions and we do try our best to resolve all the complaints and concerns brought to our attention from all online garden forms. There are many factors beyond the initial guarantee period that can cause an otherwise vigorous and healthy plant to fail, most of which are beyond our control. They include severe winter weather, drought, disease, insect damage, marauding animals, etc. While proper care and winter protection will go a long way toward ensuring your plants will have a long and healthy life, even this can not unconditionally guarantee that environmental conditions will not impact the survival of your plants. Because of this, we are unable to extend our guarantee beyond the initial growing season. We apologize for any inconvenience.

In fact, I would argue that customer service has always been their strong point, at least with respect to my experience. The few times I've branched out to other mail order catalogs I've been burned - I'm going back to ordering solely from J&P this year.

Also, remember that they have distinct seasons so their roses aren't available year round. You must pay attention to those dates and once ordering is open, if you really want something, order it then as they can and do run out of really popular roses.

I guess what I would say is - bottom line you're talking about plants. I know some companies say "100% growth guaranteed" and all that - but let's face it, these are living things. Sometimes some plants don't grow, or are damaged or diseased. It could happen in shipping, it could be something you did or it could've been a weak plant from day one. I don't mind getting a dud here and there so long as a company is responsive and J&P has always been responsive. I also appreciate (now having dealt with other companies) their shipping materials. Large boxes, expertly packed. It makes a difference.

On March 14th, 2017, alittlet added the following:

I ordered 4 more this year and I'm waiting on their arrival.


Roses like good drainage and are heavy feeders, so we like to make sure that no matter what your soil type that you add as much compost and/or well rotted organic matter into the mix of the rose bed to make a loose friable growing space. Sand can be added too, but it does not open up air spaces in the soil like organic matter does, so it should not be the only additive, particularly when dealing with clay soils. You do not want to create a ‘clay pot’ effect so make sure that you mix the garden soil well into your rose bed mix.

If you are planting bareroot roses it is very important to dig a hole that is at least 2 feet wide and deep in order to place the roots at the proper depth. If you live in growing zones 5 and colder it is best to bury the graft knot at least 1”-2” below the soil level for winter protection. Mulch is very important in the planting of roses. This material keeps rain water from splashing mud up onto the leaves and flowers. Keeping soil off of the leaves and flowers helps to keep diseases, like black spot and mildew, from forming and spreading.

Drip irrigation is a wonderful way to be sure that your roses get plenty of water without getting their leaves wet. This can be set in place after planting and covered with your mulch of choice to keep the water cooler in summer.


Temperate Climate (Zones 5-7):

  1. Stop Deadheading and Fertilizing. To get ready for winter, roses need plenty of time to go into dormancy. During the fall they naturally harden off and concentrate sugars in their canes, creating a kind of natural antifreeze. But they don’t want to enter dormancy if they haven’t set any seeds yet. If you keep feeding and deadheading your roses, they will still be trying to bloom and thus will be more susceptible to frost damage. Let your roses stop blooming and develop hips and they will enter dormancy much earlier.
  2. Treat Pests with Earth-Tone. Keep battling the bugs as needed.
  3. Apply Fungicide as Needed. This summer has been wet in a lot of the US, which unfortunately means more foliar disease. Keep your roses healthy with copper fungicide.

Jackson & Perkins rose test panel.

I'm pretty sure that I lurked on this forum years and years ago, some of your names are still familiar!

Anyway, I have a question about the Jackson and Perkins rose test panel.

During the 90s, I was head over heels about roses. I love fragrant roses and unique colors, and I had collected quite a few. About this same time, two of my friends gifted me with a test panel of roses from Jackson and Perkins.

Not long after planting these roses, I went back to work full time. Between my new job and my small kids, my garden suffered tremendously, most of my beloved roses eventually died. And I must admit, I did not follow through with the documentation of the roses' progress back to Jackson & Perkins.

Three of my original four test panel roses from J & P did survive however. They were in a flower bed that got regular water from automatic sprinklers and I did manage to prune them once a year. they are truly amazing! It seems like the more I ignored and abused these roses, the better they performed. I have actually had people come to my front door (many times) asking what their names are. I am lucky that even though the roses have been in my flowerbeds for at least 15 years, they still have both their metal and their yellow tag I.D. numbers attached.

Does anyone know if somewhere there is a list that tells which roses from the test panels over the years made it to be eventually commercially available? I really would like to be able to tell people what the names of these roses are, plus I just want to know their names!


Roses forum→Bad Experience with Jackson&Perkins - Will Never Buy Again

Sign-up for our Free Weekly Newsletter from the National Gardening Association:

· Gain access to free articles, tips, ideas, pictures and everything gardening

. Every week see the 10 best gardening photos to inspire your gardening projects

12/2017: Purchased three roses

04/2018: Received three roses

05/2018: Two of them didn't grow

05/20/18 – 5/29/18: Tried to call to get refund or replacement, refund deadline is the end of May, Waiting over 30 minutes each time I called, then got hung up (they must have a lot of refund requests)

05/29/18: Sent in an email and received automatic response saying it would take longer than usual to process

06/30/18: No email response, so I called again. Customer rep said the guarantee period expired. I told her I called so many times and sent in an email. She did see my email. She asked me to do the 'Scratch Test' and tell her the color I see. I told her the color was grey and yellowish. She asked me to do Epson for another 60 days.

06/30/18: Called again after some online learning. I asked if the color was grey, it meant the plant already died, why I needed to do Epson treatment. She said just to give it another chance to see if the rose can grow. I asked for refund. She said the refund couldn't be issued until 60 days of Epson treatment.

06/2018 – 08/2018: Epson treatment…

09/13/18: Contacted them through online chatting. Was told the refund has been issued.

09/14/18: Received an email saying my refund was rejected, "The notes state that the scratch test showed green and the representative advised you to do an Epsom salt treatment on the roses. There was no further communication after that time, which put you two months out of guarantee."

09/14/18: Called again, was told that my refund was denied by another department and she couldn't communicate with them. Asked to speak to a manager, was told the manager was in meeting then got hung up.

They lie about everything. The refund and replacement policy is a joke. How could a company do business like this?! Don't waste your money and time with them.
Just to share my experience and hope all roses lovers could make informed buying decision.

Given that they have all now shared budwood that's been exposed to Rose Rosette Disease, I wouldn't accept one of those plants as a gift.





This is so true. Years ago J&P was a wonderful company, but I ordered again 3 years ago and had almost exactly the same experiences that Hanna described. I had dead plants and no refund. I got other pretty catalogs in the mail, and found out they were all associated with J&P. No thanks on any of them.


If you haven't ordered from a "good" company in some time, it is worth looking up "Who owns. fill in the blank. " Chances are it is an investment company.




Watch the video: Fertilizing Roses with Paul Zimmerman